Groovers Corner with Peter Curtin: December 18th

Kendrick Lamar's stunning new video for 'Humble' was directed by Dave Meyers

Peter presents part one of a two part installment looking back at some of the best tracks and albums from 2017!

Listen back via the RTÉ Radio Player here


Sam Gellaitry – Jungle Waters [XL]

Vince Staples – Bagbak [Def Jam]

Thundercat – Jethro [Brainfeeder]

Mr. Jukes ft. BJ the Chicago Kid – Angels/Your Love [Universal]

Steve Lacy – Thangs [Three Quarter]

Syd – Insecurities [The Internet/Columbia]

Chaos In The CBD – Distorted Fields [In Dust We Trust]

Smino – Anita [Downtown Records]

Tony Allen – Moanin’ [Decca]

Shookrah – Gerascophobia [Self]

Cody Chesnutt – Africa The Future [One Little Indian]

Okmalumkoolkat – Shark Attack [Affine]

Kutmah ft. Gonjasufi // Bury Me By The River [Big Dada]

Jonwayne – Human Condition [Authors/The Order Label]

IMYYMIND – Untitled [Money $ex Records]

Jaimeo Brown Transcendence – Safflower [Motéma Music]

Abstract Orchestra – Two Can Win [ATA Records]

Terrace Martin presents The Pollyseeds – Up And Away [Ropeadope]

Moonchild – Run Away [Tru Thoughts]

Rusangano Family – I Know You Know [Self]

Kendrick Lamar – DNA. [Top Dog ENT]

Rejjie Snow ft. Ebenezer – Flexin [300 Entertainment/Snow]

slowthai – wiseman [BONE SODA]

Primary Node – You’re The Problem [Self]

Clap! Clap! – Ar-Raqis (Medlar Remix) [Black Acre]

Daphni – Face to Face [Jiaolong]

79rs Gang – Dead and Gone [Sinking City Records]

Laura Misch – Harness [Self]

Torben Unit – Kristina [Money $ex Records]

Emanative – Black Enchantment [Self]

Shabazz Palaces ft. Thaddillac – Shine A Light [Sub Pop]

Hector Plimmer – Kalimba [Albert’s Favourites]

Mykele Deville – Black Magic [Self]

Yazz Ahmed – Jamil Jamal [Naim Records]

The Heliocentrics – The Sunshine Makers [Soundway]

Matt Martians – Diamond in da Ruff [Three Quarter]

Madison McFerrin – No Time To Lose [630113 Records]

Nite Jewel – 2 Good 2 Be True [Gloriette Records]

New Jackson – Anya’s Piano [All City]

Black Flower – Bones [Sdban]

Jafaris – See Your Face [Self]

Gila – Pick Six [Deviation]

Jlin – Black Origami [Planet Mu]

Quelle-Chris ft. Cavalier & Suzi Analogue – Calm Before [Mello Music]

Joni – 292 [Feel Good Lost]

Little Dragon – Should I [Loma Vista Recordings]

The Band – Two Peas In A Pod [Free DL]

Alemayehu Eshete – Alteleyeshegnem [Philophon]

Vels Trio ft. Shabaka Hutchings – 40 Point [Total Refreshment Records]

Auxiliary Phoenix ft. Jordan Hansen & James McDermott – Mayday [Inner Current Recordings]

Nick Hakim – Green Twins [ATO Records]

Jar Jar Jr ft. Looms – Ah Well [Self]

Flying Lotus – Night Grows Pale [Free DL]

Jesse Heffernan – Don’t Leave Me Like That [Camden Recordings]

Oumou Sangaré ft. Tony Allen – Yere faga [No Format]

salami rose joe louis – Same Way [Self]

Replete – Green Fields [Always Human Tapes]

Kintaro – Superstar [Free DL]

Daniel Casimir – Really For Always [Jazz Re:freshed]

Kamasi Washington – Truth [Young Turks]

Actress – FALLING RIZLAS [Ninja Tune]

Loah – Unveiled [Ensemble Music]

Colin Stetson – All this I do for glory [Self]

Davy Kehoe – Storm Desmond [Wah Wah Wino]

gadget and the cloud – you asked who I was [Free DL]

Micki Miller ft. Heyzeus – No Alcohol [Self]

Fixity – The Monk In The Moon [Penske]

Mankyy – Here, By Myself [The Unscene]

Leave a comment